Monday, 1 December 2014

UNIBEN Students Win Vehicle Innovation Award At the International Shell Eco Marathon.

Students from UNIBEN ( University of Benin ) in
Faculty of Engineering, named Team UNIBEN at the
recently held Shell Eco Marathon in Europe and
South Africa this past Oct. 2014 , broke grounds in
the international competition by winning award for
‘most innovative vehicle design’ throughout Africa
with its made in Nigeria car called Ecocruise.
Shell Eco Marathon is a global competition that is
geared towards students by challenging them to
build, test and drive fuel efficient vehicles. In other
words, all the cars built are set to race and the
vehicle that goes the farthest on the least amount
of fuel automatically wins.
Team UNIBEN was also a participant at the may
2014 edition of the event (Shell eco-marathon
Europe) with their first made in Nigeria car model
named Tuketuke, making them the first team from
Sub Saharan Africa to participate in the Shell eco-
marathon. These two cars were handmade by
these students alone in the workshop. no
department of education support, which is the case
in Nigeria where government never supports grass
root organic innovation, so work hard for your own
Tuketuke is actually fitted with innovative features
that most present day mid sized cars don’t have,
like automatic windscreen wiper, button actuated
gears, fingerprint access, ankara interior and
fiberglass body. Both cars won all 10 technical and
safety inspections, meeting the events global
standard, that qualified them to race on the track at
the event.
They are preparing to unveil updated two new cars
for next leg of the shell eco-marathon taking place
in Netherlands in the Netherlands next year.
Students team memebers are: Osas Omijie, Festus
ibidapo, adekola adeyemi, abdulmalik tajliad, Daniel
okwoka, justice Oyemike, emmanuel Ajari,
eloghosa iyamu, James itoro, Jennifer orji, Anne
monye, Michael olukoya,and Victor adegboye, 13
students in total supervised by Professor Akii
Ibhadode (Winner, NLNG Award for Science, 2010).


Post a Comment